Who is protected? What is prohibited?

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial status (families with children)
  • Handicap

What is Prohibited?

The following actions are prohibited if based on a consumer’s association with one or more of the protected classes listed above:

  • Refusal to rent or sell or negotiate for housing.
  • Making housing unavailable.
  • Denial of a dwelling.
  • Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling.
  • Providing different housing services or facilities.
  • Falsely denying that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental.
  • Denial of access to or membership in a facility or service related to the sale or rental of housing.
  • Steering prospective tenants to a certain neighborhood, development or unit.
  • Refusal to make a mortgage loan or provide information regarding loans.
  • Imposing different terms or conditions on a loan.
  • Discrimination in appraising property.
  • Refusal to purchase a loan.
  • Setting different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan.